Uvis Slakteris won the GP of Denmark

Nora, Sweden – May 24, 2010

It's very rare that the heat of the field increases after the red lights go out at the start of a race but that's what happened in the opening round of the 2010 Nordic Championship and Scandinavian F2 Open in Horsens, Denmark.

2009 Scandinavian Champion - Riga Powerboat Teamdriver Uvis Slakteris being in leading position was chased by last year UIM F2 World Champion Johan Coenradi from Holland Boatsport Racing Team who is driving with a brand new DAC boat, made by 10th time UIM F1 World Champion Guido Cappellini.

The both rivals tried to catch up Swede Erik Stark from GeTel Racing and Englishman Owen Jelf from Jelf Racing. Stark had made his way through to fill 3rd place ahead of Jelf. Good results also showed Norvegians Rich Ivar Hakonsen from Scandinavian Chalengers, returning back after one year brake and Mette Bjerknes from Bjerknes Racing, respectively secured 5th and 6th place.

It was a close battle between old adversaries Slakteris and Coenradi. Also last year they tried to beat each other. Latvian driver won Danish Grand Prix second time in a row with reserve boat because his battle horse is still waiting to be shipped from Saudi Arabia to Europe.

”This time Horsens is my lucky place. I was stressed during the race, but very happy when I won it! This season had started successfully. There had been a lot of feelings and obstacles during the weekend. Without tight fight between drivers and choppy water, my team was forced to resolve technical problems with a piston. We changed it, but we weren’t sure that the engine will last out until the end of race. Everything was fine and I couldn’t wish get more in so high professional racing level,” said lucky winner Slakteris after the race.

Mother Earth produced hot sunshine and just a gentle cool breeze for the duration of the race which was enjoyed by a large crowd of local enthusiasts. Series promoter Leif Ahlborg thanks to everybody and welcome back next year.

Grand Final of Denmark: Time

1.Uvis Slakteris/Riga Powerboat Team, Latvia/Molgaard 17:01,67

2.Johan Coenradi/Holland Boatsport Racing Team, Holland/DAC17:04,23

3.Erik Stark/GeTel Racing, Sweden/DAC17:07,12

4.Owen Jelf/Jelf Racing, UK/Molgaard17:21,74

5.Rick Ivar Hakonsen/Scandinavian Chalengers, Norway/BABA17:28,81

6.Mette Bjerknes/Bjerknes Racing, Norway/Molgaard17:30,54

More info:www.nolimit.se