F1 -Al Hameli Secures Pole for Grand Prix of Sharjah

SHARJAH, United Arab Emirates - December 15, 2011 - The stage is set for a nailbiting finale to the 2011 season as Abu Dhabi's Ahmed Al Hameli clinched pole position ahead of one of the contenders for the 2011 world crown Jay Price of Team Qatar.

Price had led qualifying until the final session but his Qatar team partner who leads the title chase Alex Carella had to settle for 4th place on the grid behind Philippe Chiappe.

Abu Dhabi's Thani Al Qamzi filled 5th place while Pierre Lundin, Francesco Cantando, Shaun Torrente, Davide Padovan and Kuwaiti Yousef Al Rubayan rounded out the top ten.

It has certainly not been the best of seasons for the Mad Croc team. In China their leader and reigning world champion Sami Selio was seriously injured in a horror crash that ruled him out for the UAE events and the captain's arm band was worn by Davide Padovan. 

However after setting a fast lap around the huge Khalid Lagoon circuit, Padovan barrel-rolled while trying to improve his time so it's left to Kuwait guest driver Yousef Rubayan to fly the Mad Croc flag tomorrow unless they can repair Padovan's boat in time.

Electric problems plagued Team Nautic's Marit Stromoy and Bartek Marszalek. Stromoy, who was second on the grid in Abu Dhabi finished in 12th place today after an electrical fault slowed her down while Marszalek, whose boat was wrecked in Abu Dhabi has major electrical problems on his new boat. All the wiring was taken from the damaged boat and refitted on the new rig but obviously there is a damaged wire they are desperately trying to find.

Jonas Andersson is keen to improve on his lowly 14th place aboard the new Molgaard hull which he reports is 'great to drive' but it's obviously not quick enough yet.

And Philippe Tourre of Team Atlantic is not sure whether he's coming or going as after wrecking his number one boat in China, he's tried two different outfits in Abu Dhabi and both appear to have a holes in the hulls.

Tomorrow's Grand Prix of Sharjah starts at 16.00 local time and 12.00 GMT and 07.00 EST.